Skip to content

Stereotypes and Such-Happy Earth Day!

April 22, 2010

If I’ve learned something while living in this wonderful place, it’s that a lot of stereotypes are truly based in reality, while others of course are not.  Here are a few random thoughts on the subject!

*Since it’s Earth month and today was Earth Day (woohoo, hug a tree!) I’ve been thinking about all this quite a lot lately and how it fits in with the stereotype or norsks being out-doorsy-nature-lovin’-folk.  The thing is, Norwegians really are close with nature, at least the ones I know.  Everyone I know has a cabin (or two sometimes haha) that they like to hike to in the winters or summers to spend time skiing or swimming or reading a book or whatever. A lot of people think it’s almost “cheating” or not as real to have a cabin with all the fixins-TV, internet, etc.  People just seem to care more about the environment.  Trondheim is a city of roughly 150,000 people, and the streets are nearly as clean as Northfield’s.  People just don’t seem to litter; I mean, people litter, obviously, but not on the scale that people do it in the US where we have to have the “Adopt a Highway” program to keep our lands clean.

Another thing that’s really cute, is in a lot of bathrooms (mostly at the school, but I’ve seen it elsewhere) there are these little cartoon signs telling you that ONE paper towel is ENOUGH! And it shows you how to do it; ya know, wash your hands, then SHAKE SHAKE SHAKE them off, then just grab one haha. It’s pretty cute, something I could totally see people putting up around campus at Olaf.  People don’t like to buy a new water bottle every day either.  I’ve joined in and I literally have had the same bottle for at least 2 weeks. Eventually they get grungy and you throw them away, but mostly you just use the same one until it’s worn down.  And everyone recycles.  Like everything. It’s like you don’t realize how much can truly be recycled until living in a place like this where they really don’t just throw away barely anything because everything gets recycled-it’s wonderful!

*On a different note, there really are a lot of blonde hair blue eye tall thin people, as well as a lot of St. Olaf look-a-likes. I swear I’ve seen half the St. Olaf population since I’ve been in Norway…this is not, of course, the only type of person :).  Trondheim is a bit farther north, a bit less settled with immigrants, and to me maybe a bit more what people back home think of as “stereotypical” Norway.  I chose to study in Trondheim instead of Oslo because of those reasons.  However, at this time Norway has around 500,000 immigrants or children born to immigrant parents, which is roughly 10 percent of the population, so it is by no means homogeneous.  People come in all shapes in sizes everywhere in the world; it’s just more diverse in some areas than others.

*Minnesotans may have inherited a lot of speech cadences and long vowels from the norsk, but “Minnesota-nice” is clearly not a ‘true’ Scandinavian trait.  We like to make small talk with the person next to us on the bus, talk about the weather with the grocery store clerk, gossip in small-towns with people you meet on the street, and lend a hand to complete strangers if they look lost or confused.  Norwegians are much more self-reliant than us haha.  I mentioned this before, but on last weeks episode of “Alt for Norge” (the reality show that sent Norwegian-Americans over to Norway to discover their roots!) the contestants were faced with the task of buying a few items in the city of Stavanger with just a sheet of paper with the name on it.  They had no clue what these things were really or where to get them.  Of course they’re standing around looking up and all around, and start attempting to stop random passersby and ask for directions to a store or where they can find a certain item.  The thing is, they got little to no help, and when they did, people were pretty reluctant. 

Now I can’t speak for all you Oles, but I can’t count the number of times I’ve been walking on campus and a passing car has pulled over and asked “Can you tell me where the soccer fields are?” or “Do you know how to get to this Skogland Center?” and I smile and point out the way to take down the only road through campus.  It’s not that Norwegians are cold or don’t want to help others, they are just more reserved and become so much more independent as such a young age; many students move out of their parents’ homes at age 16 to go to a larger city to attend a specific high school.  When I was 16 my mom was still making my breakfast and supper every day and I can’t remember ever doing something on my own like calling the doctor or shopping for groceries.  My point is, I think that part of the reason the norsk seem less-willing to help out a stranger, is that they’ve been figuring stuff out on their own for many years longer than a lot of Americans. I mean, I’m 21 and I’ve never filed my own taxes, payed my own phone bill, or truly lived on my own (until I came here of course :)).  I wouldn’t have it any other way, and I know not all Americans are like me either, who is lucky enough to have parents that are willing and able to support me completely in my education and want me to focus on school and not bills until I have to, but I know at least some of these things are true.  I mean, how many of you filed your own FAFSA in the few years you’ve been at college? I wouldn’t know where to begin!  The list goes on and on. Point being, even though Norwegians don’t have the Minnesota-nice, they’re pretty good people once you get to know them :).

Anyways, those are my few random thoughts right now.  I have to finish reflecting on my boyfriend and his mom’s visit so I can send out that post with lots of pictures!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Earth Day (which apparently is just an American thing, btw; I guess every day is Earth Day here, har-de-har) and that your April is wrapping up nicely.  Owe, sidenote! At this point there’s about 16 hours of daylight-today sunrise was at 5:30 a.m. and sunset around 9 p.m. and in just 2 short weeks we’ll gain another hour. Very awesome. I like living this close to the arctic circle :).

Peace, Love and Respect to everyone-xoxo Emma K

Tyholt dinner

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 9:41 pm

    Wait a second, you don’t pay your own phone bill? I did in college. MOMMMMMMM – that’s not fair!!!! ;-)

    Great points Emma – I think most Europeans are more reserved upon first meeting. Americans in general are just more “in your face,” and that’s okay too….as long as we respect each other. :)

    I can’t wait to experience Norway WITH you in a couple of weeks, but I’m petrified b/c I don’t know a word of Norwegian (other than please and thank you!) and I feel awful about that. :(

    • April 22, 2010 9:52 pm

      Psh whatever Jose, that was also back in the day when people first were getting cell phones (you’re so olllllldddd!! hahah jk jk)!

      I can’t wait for you to be here either big sis!! And okay, don’t feel bad about not knowing Norwegian. Honestly, most of the norsk I meet here when they find out I’m American but can speak Norwegian, their first questions is usually, “WHY??” hahah…so you’re not out of the ordinary. There are actually a lot of French international students who don’t speak a word either (they remind me of you, obvs.) :).

      Anyway, I’ll teach you a few things when we get together! Also, people don’t really ever say please here, it’s so formal lol. Takk is the most important word anyways!! :)

      • April 22, 2010 9:56 pm

        Funny – in France people say please for EVERYTHING, all the time, and it precedes the sentence, or you’re considered quite rude! Everyone is different…

  2. Maddy permalink
    April 22, 2010 10:11 pm

    Hei Emma,
    Jeg heter Maddy og jeg er en førsteårsstudent ved St.Olaf College. Jeg spilte volleyball for søstera di og studerer norsk på St.Olaf. Jeg er i norske 112 og jeg studerer sykepleie. Romkamerat mitt reiser til Norge i sommer og hun er veldig spent! Norge virker som et vakkert land!

    Your blog was very interesting to read and it seems like you are having such a memorable time!! Your comments about how earth friendly and environmentally aware norwegians are seems so true. We talked in class about how norwegians love nature and love their cabins, which is kindof like minnesotans!! There seems to be many similarities between norwegians and minnesotans. I never knew that norwegians grew up so early and were very indepednant. That is a good quality to have, another great quality of good wholesome norwegians! I bet you feel at home while in norway and are loving being around such well mannered and kind people.. it might be a culture shock when you come back to the US! I hope you are enjoying yourself and continue to have an amazing trip!

  3. Siri permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:12 pm

    Hei Hei Emma!

    Jeg heter Siri og er student ved St. Olaf. Jeg studerer norsk og tar norsk 232 med Nancy nå. Jeg elsker norsk! Hvilke norskkurs har du tatt? Jeg planlegger å gå til Norge neste sommeren, så jeg er interrest i hvor mye norsk du visste før du gikk til Trondheim. Var du nervøs når du kom til Norge? Jeg er nervøs fordi jeg tror at jeg vet litt norsk!
    Jeg liker bloggen din veldig mye. Du har god og interessant innsikt. Det er fantasktisk at du kan lære så mye om en andre kultur. Jeg liker hva du skrev om stereotypier. Jeg lærte mye fra du! Jeg er enig i at nordmenn høres mye ut som mennesker fra minnesota. Det er interessant at nordmenn er ikke så hyggelig enn mennesker fra minnesota. Jeg er sikker på at de er hyggelige mennesker, men de er mer reserverte og stoiske.
    Jeg håper at du lære mye og møte mye nye mennesker!

    Hilsen

    Siri

  4. Thore Dosdall permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:25 pm

    Hei Emma!

    Jeg er så glad at vi trengte å lese bloggen din til norskforelesning. Jeg har glemt å gjøre det dette semesteret. Det er veldig spennende og jeg innså hvor mye jeg savner å være i Norge. Jeg skjønner absolutt hva du sier om å være amerikansk i Norge i Karoline, celebrities, and Americans. Selv om jeg ser ut litt norsk, jeg kan (noe ☺) norsk, jeg har norsk slekt, jeg har bodde i Norge totalt i tre måneder og jeg er så glad i Norge…, bli jeg fortsatt amerikansk. Og det er noe og være glad i. Jeg forstår ikke hvorfor nordmenn pleier å være så selvstendige at de ikke vil snakke med hverandre unntatt når de måtte. Jeg liker å hjelpe mennesker og delta i småprate. Jeg ønsker at jeg var i Norge å kunne drikke ét (eller to… :P) øl med deg, Karoline og Ingrid. Forresten skal jeg bor i Norskhuset neste år. Vi trenge en mennesker til så hvis du vil leve der igjen, skriv Nancy! Håper du trives godt og hils de andre for meg.

    -Thore

  5. Maura permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:43 am

    Hei hei!

    Jeg heter Maura and I loved reading your blog! I thought since you’ve been away from St. Olaf that you would enjoy hearing about some happenings that have been going on here on then hill. Today as you know was earth day. There was a very beautiful chapel that was held outside. There was singing and some nice readings. There have been lots of different activities going on and the weather has been wonderful. Its so sunny almost every day and everyone is always outside playing frisbee or just laying in the grass (which is now super green)! Norway seems to be like a lot of fun! I think its interesting the differences you notice between Norway and Olaf. I also love the comparisons you make! Like the minnesota-nice, and the look-a-likes between the blonde-haired blue-eyed Norwegians and the St. Olaf population. It seems like you are having many fun adventures and will continue to have many more throughout your stay. I hope you have an amazing trip!

    Maura

  6. Jessica Laurinaitis permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:44 am

    Hei Hei Emma!!

    Jeg heter Jessica og jeg er en førsteårsstudent ved St. Olaf college. Jeg spiller ishockey og softball/ track på St. Olaf. Jeg er i norsk 112 og jeg studerer kunst og kunst historie. Jeg tenker på å gå til Norge for J-TERM neste år!

    Your blog was fun to read it sounds like your having a blast!! I really liked your blog about Earth Day! It’s really nice to hear how clean and environment friendly Norwegians are! If only we could be more like that in the U.S! I would fit in in Norway because I have a cabin in northern Minnesota that I go to a lot that has ZERO electricity and I love it! I also recycle all the time and always have a water bottle I carry around so I don’t waste them! I feel like Norwegians are similar to a lot of people I know in Minnesota! It must be nice to not have as much pollution everywhere like in the U.S. I wish we could change how much pollution we have here! I hope you continue to have a great time and meet a lot more great people that remind you of St. Olaf students! :) Take care! Enjoy the rest of your time!

    Ha det!

    Jessica Laurinaitis

  7. April 23, 2010 12:50 am

    oh hei!
    du er veldig fint emma! hvorfor!? Jeg liker deg! Hvor kommer du fra i Minnesota? Ikke Northfield?
    Bra!
    Jeg studerer norsk ved st. olaf men du synes den! Jeg liker norsk!

    EMMA! hey!
    this is both an assignment for class, and a chance for me to tell you just how incredibly jealous i am of your adventures in norgeland. Whoa! Your pictures are amazing, though i’m sure they don’t do justice to how amazing it is in real life! Been to any hoppin’ music festivals? Norway’s supposed to have a killer electronic scene….you should check that out for sure!

    Takk Emma!

    See you soooooon!

  8. Ashley R permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:51 am

    Hei Hei, Emma!

    Jeg heter Ashley og jeg er førsteårsstudent ved St.Olaf College. Jeg liker blogg din veldig godt! Jeg er en student i norsk 112 og jeg synes blogg din veldig interessant og pedagogisk for meg. Jeg er veldig interessert i norsk kultur og de byene.

    Emma, it’s so cool to be able to read about your experiences in Norway. Its so interesting to hear about Norwegian culture and the norms from someone who is living in it as opposed to in our Norwegian books. I found this post particularly amusing as we are studying cabins and home vocabulary right now- very serendipitous! I also like the differences you drew between Minnesotans and Norwegians- just today I gave someone directions to the Admin building. The first time I tried to give directions, I realized as they drove off I just pointed them in the wrong direction… opses! I hope you continue to have a great trip- it sounds amazing!

  9. Siri Smithback permalink
    April 23, 2010 12:59 am

    Hei Emma,
    Jeg heter Siri og jeg er en student ved St. Olaf . Jeg studerer dans, psykologi og nordic studier. Jeg tar norsk 232 med Nancy nå. Jeg er glad at vi kan lese bloggen din. Det er veldig morsomt å lese om livet din in Norge.

    Jeg leste siden for 22. april. Jeg tenker at det er bra at Norge liker natur så mye. I norsk timer lærer oss mye om norsk naturluftsliv. Jeg liker at mange nordmenn liker å gå til hytter og gå på ski eller gå på tur i natur. Jeg leser også at du så Ingrid siste måned. Ingrid er kusine mi!

    For Earthday danset danskurs min utenfor. Vi hadde en dans som var i ferd spille i naturen. Vi utført utenfor Regents og Buntrock.

    Jeg håper at du vil ha en god vår i Trondheim. Ha det gøy i sola! ☺ Jeg vil være i Oslo og Snåsa i sommer og det vil være mye sol!

    Hilsen,
    Siri

  10. Alyssa Williams permalink
    April 23, 2010 1:28 am

    Hei Emma! Det er jeg, Alyssa! Hvordan går det???? Jeg tar Norsk 112 med Nancy, og vi må lese bloggen din for leksene våre. Jeg elsker å lese dem, og jeg er så glad i du trives godt der, i Norge. Jeg håper å reise til Norge i sommer, men det er så dyrt. :( Vi skal se. Når skal du komme tilbake til USA? Skal du reise til andre land? Liker du universitetet ditt? Det er så fint at du tar to sociologi kurser! Woot woot. Er de norske kursene veldig vanskelig?

    Det er fatastisk at kjæresten din og mora hans besøkte deg! Hva gjorde dere sammen? Hvor lenge var de i Norge?

    Oh, klemte du et tre, eller to i dag? Haha.

    Jeg håper våren er fin, og jeg gleder meg til høre fra deg!

    P.S. Vi må reise til Thailand ingjen!

    Takk for nå!

    Hilsen!

    Alyssa Williams

  11. Kristian permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:24 am

    Hei, hei Emma!
    Jeg heter Kristian og jeg lærer norsk ved St. Olaf College med Nancy. Jeg studerer teater og litteratur.

    I remember hearing how Norwegians are often reluctant to offer assistance despite their being, supposedly, very friendly people overall. Are there really people who need to ask whether to continue on the only road through campus?! I can only imagine what the response of a real Norwegian would’ve been as opposed to their American cousins who have been endowed with their painstaking Minnesota-niceness.

    By the way, we were aked to give you some updates on some interesting news from St. Olaf. As I attempt to distinguish one moment from another in the blur of Spring activity I can think of very little to say that is of any real relevance. I am not sure how invested you are in the choirs on campus but our Spring concert is on this Saturday! Everyone involved is pretty pumped.

    Well, cheers!

  12. David Masterman permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:57 am

    Hei, jeg heter Stig! Jeg er student ved st. olaf. jeg vil studere i Norge ogsa!. Jeg spiller ishockey og golf pa st olaf. Jeg liker bloggen din. Det var veldig interresent. Det er ikke vanskelig a studere i en ny land. Jeg haper du er det bra. det bør være en god opplevelse for deg. Jeg har noen spørsmål til deg. tror du det var en god erfaring å studere i Norge, og vil du anbefale det. email meg at masterma@stolaf.edu….sorry if this wasn’t clear but I’ll tell you what I want to say in English too…

    Hey Emma, I’m not sure if our class is supposed to write this response in English or Norwegian, but I don’t think I would be able to say everything I want to say in Norwegian so…

    I think it’s very cool that you studied in Norway and I hope to do the same thing someday! I realize that it’s very hard to study in a new country and I commend you for taking that very difficult leap. I’m sure that the risk you have taken has paid off! I read a couple of your blogs and they were very interesting. The fact that you heard a different proffesor’s perspective on the war in iraq is very intresting. I thought it was really funny that you mentioned that a lot of Bush bashing was going on ( something that I would expect from other countries.) Anyway, I liked how you added a lot of humor to your blogs because it lightens the mood even though the task that you are undertaking is undoubtably a great one. I found it intresting when you mentioned that one of the classes you were taking was based completely on a paper and a test. That is a lot different from the US, where a lot of your grade is based on participation and homework. I hope you keep enjoyoingy your time in Norway and hope it is a great experience for you! I hope to someday be in your position and write a blog about my experiences aswell. I’m very curiious if you think that this experience was worth it and if you would recommend it to anyone. Sorry if my Norwegian was a bit rough but I’m not to the point yet where I can write a perfect paragraph in Norwegian. Email me at masterma@stolaf.edu.
    sincerely,
    Stig Masterman

  13. Jordan permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:59 am

    Hei Emma!

    Jeg heter Jens og jeg er en student ved St. Olaf. Jeg studerer matte, økonomi og statistikk. Jeg er veldig glad i St. Olaf :)

    First off I want to say that I’m super jealous. If I could travel anywhere in Europe it would probably be Norway now. My family has some strong Norwegian heritage so I’ve seen tons of pictures, and both my grandparents have gone to visit there. It looks SO beautiful. But anyway, that’s nice to hear the Norwegians are so green. They’re obviously a few steps ahead of us over here. And about the being on your own thing by 16… no way! I mean I’m a pretty independent guy but I still let my mom do all my financial stuff for college, and I didn’t even think about moving out of the house before I was 18. But apparently things are much different over there. I hope you continue to enjoy your time in Norway :)

    Ha det bra!
    Jordan

  14. Emily Squires permalink
    April 23, 2010 4:23 am

    Hei Emma! Jeg heter Emily og jeg er en student ved St. Olaf. Jeg har norsk 232 med Nancy og det er veldig spennende at vi kan lese bloggen din til norskforelesning. Jeg har ikke reist til Norge, men det høres så fint ut! Jeg har lyst til å reise til Trondheim eller Oslo. Det er fint at nordmenn er så glad i natur og liker å være utendørs. Hvis jeg reiser til Norge, ville jeg gå på fjellene og se på fjordene. Siden det var Earth Day i dag, hadde vi veldig god mat i Stav Hall (Low Carbon Diet!). Jeg liker at du har bilder med bloggen din, byer og naturen i Norge er pene. Nå har vi mer sol i Northfield og studentene sitter på gresset, studerer og spiller frisbee. Det er vår igjen! Jeg vet at det er også lysere i Norge nå. Du skriver fine ting om Norge og andre ting. Kanskje du skal bli forfatter :-) Håper du trives godt.

    Hilsen!

    Emily

  15. Jordan permalink
    April 23, 2010 4:40 am

    Hei Emma!

    Jeg heter Jordan Williams, og jeg kommer fra Lawrence, Kansas. Jeg studere biolgi ved Olaf. Jeg liker bloggen din! Det er veldig interessant å se hva synes du om Norge.

    In all seriousness, being a sophomore and getting ready to travel to Australia next spring, it is crazy cool to see just all that you think about and what you perceive by living in another culture. And I think you are totally correct about how cultures are so varied, both by experiences and values. It’s scary to think how truly dependent a lot of us are, especially compared to our counterparts. (Age wise, anyway)

    In other news, I’m sure that being incredibly far away from home is a bit of a drag. I have some interesting happenings from around campus!

    Construction on the Old Science Center has been moving along incredibly fast… You wont recognize it! The weather here has been really strange (no snow in all of march…WHA?!). there is a new manager in the cage, and he is OCD. He has changed all of the displays and they have brought in new products like vegan cookies and stuff. That’s been interesting. Hmm…what else… Lutefest is coming up on the 8th, so that should be cool. Hopefully the weather stays cooperative!

    Enjoy your time in Norway! I know that I’m incredibly jealous!

  16. Karin permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:08 am

    Hei Hei Emma! Jeg tar et norskurs(112) fra Nancy dette semestre. Det var morsomt å lese posten din. Det er så fint at du kan være i Norge for EarthDay! I wonder if the Norwegians celebrate earth day as St. Olaf students, or as Americans do.
    Also, it’s great to see your pictures including other Oles! Given that you note Norwegians’ independent, reserved nature, how has it been making friends abroad?
    Students at St. Olaf are getting anxious as the 2nd round of exams are coming around. I’m a senior and there is both more partying and studying going on…at higher levels than typical. There was actually a newspaper article in the Northfield Paper about Oles getting too carried away with alcohol. I think this subject is becoming ever more popular.
    I’m excited to hear you’re getting a Norwegian-break from all of this. I hope things are a bit slower there. Best- Karin

  17. Peter permalink
    April 23, 2010 6:17 am

    Hei Hei Emma!
    Jeg heter Peter og studerer ved St. Olaf. Jeg studerer økonomi, matematikk og statistikk. Men jeg er i norsk 112 også. Jeg er interessert i norsk fordi familien min kommer fra Norge.

    I enjoyed reading your blog and your comments about the dissimilarities between Minnesotans (American Norwegians) and real Norwegians. It is true that in America kids are not nearly as independent at a young age as in most other countries, for example I know some people from Korea that tell me stories that you would expect from a 25 year old, yet they are only 17. But for things at Olaf, the Spring Concert is Eric Hutchinson, I haven’t really heard of him but apparently he’s pretty good. I hope you have a good rest of your trip and continue exploring old Minnesota, I mean Norway.

  18. Stephanie R. (Ida) permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:59 pm

    Hei Emma!

    Jeg heter Stephanie og, jeg kommer fra Red Wing, Minnesota. Jeg er en førsteårsstudent ved St. Olaf College. Jeg studerer sosiologi og antropologi, og jeg osgå er i norske 112 med Nancy Aarsvold. Jeg er veldig interessert i norsk kultur.

    Your Blog was really interesting to read! I didn’t realize how environmentally friendly Norwegians are. I also thought the little cartoon signs telling you that ONE paper towel is ENOUGH was a cute idea! Another thing I didn’t know was that American Norwegians and Norwegians were so different. Trondheim seems like a nice place and it is now on my list of places to go!

    The weather at St. Olaf has been so nice! Everybody is now going outside to play Frisbee or to study. This is also nice because some people go outside to eat so the cafeteria is not as crowded! There are also some interesting speakers coming to St. Olaf. There is a speaker coming to St. Olaf on April 27th that sounds pretty interesting, he was a former child slave and now a human rights activist. I am not really into the Twins and baseball that much but if you are they are doing good so far in the season, they are 11-5.

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Norway!!!

  19. Max Stevenson permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:43 pm

    Hei Emma!

    Jeg heter Max og jeg er en student i Norsk 112 på St. Olaf med Nancy. Jeg studerer kunst og kunst historie og er veldig interessert i nordisk kultur fordi familien min kommer fra Norge og Finland. Jeg var utvekslingsstudent også og bodde i Finland for et år.

    I found your post on stereotypes very interesting considering I had similar experiences when I was abroad. I, like you, lived in a smaller city in Finland where it was pretty much homogenous and full of your typical Finns. I especially liked when you mentioned that the Norwegians were much more independent and reserved. Finns are exactly the same way, if not even more reserved and shy. I don’t know about Norwegians but Finns would never make eye-contact with you on the streets, and if you did with one of them, they would freak out.

    As far as St. Olaf goes, spring is here and each day gets warmer and more lovely as we begin to see the flowers coming back to life. There are many concerts going on now and many are looking forward to the spring concert coming up where Eric Hutchinson is this years performer. The senior art shows just started here as well and I am looking forward to going to the opening reception this weekend.

    Again, hope all is going well, and live out the rest of your experience! It is something that will change your life (as you probably know by now) and will stay with you forever. I still am able to talk with friends back in Finland every once in a while and re-live all of the fun memories! Also, you’ll come back with new insights from not only another culture, but you will also re-experiance American culture at home!

    Best hilsen,
    Max

  20. Austin Bly permalink
    April 26, 2010 5:05 am

    Hei Emma,

    Jeg heter Austin. Jeg er også en student ved St. Olaf College. Jeg er i norsk 232 med Nancy nå og jeg studerer statsvitenskap og miljøstudier også. Jeg har lest noen sider av blogen din og det er veldig interessant. Jeg er en nerd for politisk teori også og jeg likte hva dum skrev om 9/11… 11/9.

    Men øsnket jeg å skrive kort om hva du skrev for Earth Day og stereotypier. Jeg er enig at noen stereotypier er basert på virkeligheten. Jeg lurer på hvorfor så mange norsk kommer nærmere til natur. Jeg tror mange mennesker i Minnesota hytter også, men vi liker våre “fixins.” Du peker på hvordan Nordmenn er oppdratt å være mer selvforsynt og kanskje det er relatert? Kanskje.

    Jeg håper at jeg kan oppleve hva du har observert om Nordmenn når jeg studerer i Norge. Jeg skal studerer i Oslo i sommer for ISS. :D

    Jeg er glad at du har hatt et godt tid i Trondheim. Ha det gøy i sola!

    Hilsen,
    Austin

  21. May 21, 2013 10:02 pm

    Car shopping is something which almost all adults will face in
    their lives. If you want to drive, you’ll have to buy yourself a car. The simple ideas below will help you turn the car buying process into something you not only can handle, but that you are a master of.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

