Skip to content

Long time no post…T – 1 week

June 3, 2010

Hello blog and friends,

It’s been a while, and I promise I didn’t forget you–I just got very busy (and am still busy now!).  I officially have only 1 week left here in Norway…whoa. Where did the time go?  I leave next Thursday, June 10 at 10:40 a.m. from Trondheim. Fly to Oslo, then to Iceland, then to Minneapolis where my beloved parents and a couple amazing friends will be waiting to welcome me back to the states!  I can hardly believe it.

I have a few posts that are half-finished and sitting in my drafts, and I probably won’t get around to finishing them until after I leave seeing as I’m pretty busy right now.  They include one about a tatoo I got while here :D, the visit I had in March from my boyfriend and his mother, as well as the 10-day trip around Norway visiting family I took in the middle of May with 6 family members/friend.  Needless to say, it’s been amazing, and I have a lot to write about, I just have been neglecting my duties (which is something I promised I wouldn’t do, so I’m sorry!).  It’ll be fun for me to have something to do to reflect back on my time here however when I get home.

Right now I’m studying for finals. I’ve already taken one, have one tomorrow, and my last one on Monday.  Finals are quite different here in Norway; grading is completely different from what I’m used to.  In my sociology class, which is my test tomorrow, my final exam is literally worth 100% of my grade.  The exam I took for my political science course on Tuesday was worth 1/3 of my grade while a 20 page paper I wrote is the entire other 2/3, and lastly for my Norwegian literature course, my grade is 1/2 a paper I wrote and 1/2 the oral exam (all in Norwegian) on Monday.  So basically, there is very little wiggle room; no daily assignments, no midterms, no extra credit assignments, etc.etc. which I’m used to at St. Olaf.  Here’s it’s just very comprehensive and a big one shot or nothing haha.  We’ll see how my grades are affected because of this!! I’m not too worried though.  I figure whatever experiences I’ve taken away from this semester are far more valuable to me in my life than a few more good grades–so if I don’t fare well in the grades department, so be it.

Anyways, sorry this is not a very exciting post, I was just thinking about you and decided I should give a quick shout out!  I’ve been very bipolar recently. One second I’m jumping for joy and can’t stop smiling thinking about seeing all my friends and family when I get home, and the next I’m laying in bed bawling into my pillow talking out loud to myself about how I never want to leave here haha. I know, sorry, I promise I’m not a crazy person, it’s just quite overwhelming right now so I’m going kind of nuts! Not to mention I literally get ZERO real sleep these days because of the constant light outside haha. I just don’t have the right shades! But considering sunset is somewhere around midnight and sunrise somewhere around 3 a.m….well, there’s just not a lot of night-time to be had.

I was just going to go into a big spiel about my friends here and everything but I’ve decided that since it’s quite late, I have an exam tomorrow, and I don’t feel like having a big emotional outburst at the moment, I’ll leave that to the next post (which I promise will be within a week) :)

Peace, love and happiness! Hope everyone is enjoying their summers.

xoxo Emma K

P.S. I’ve added a couple random photos!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    June 4, 2010 4:15 am

    I’m not going to comment much either, because I don’t want to have a big emotional outburst at the moment. :-) We can’t wait for you to be home, Emma. But it is beyond wonderful that you got to experience the homeland. I love the banner at the top of this blog! I am forever grateful that we got to climb up to Preikestolen with you. :-) And to walk the very land that our ancestors left, searching for opportunity in America. It’s all good, every part of these last five months, even the hard times. xxlove you Mom

  2. June 4, 2010 9:01 pm

    YAY! I was hoping you’d send another post out before you left Norway. I totally understand your mixed emotions about leaving – it’s crazy thinking you might never actually LIVE in another country again…but then again, maybe you will! :-) Either way, I’m so glad that you had a wonderful experience there! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

